Dear Shoshana, Cold Sores!

Hi Shoshana,

I get cold sores or what is known as herpes simplex 1 (and possibly 2). I don’t want to take loads of chemicals to keep this repressed. I was taking Lysine pills and that seems to have been working because I was hardly having outbreaks. Then I stopped and tried to keep it repressed by avoiding high arginine foods and consuming more high Lysine foods. But I haven’t been very diligent. I stopped taking the Lysine because again I was afraid of side effects.

What can I do to keep this under control? Should I go back to Lysine?

Thank you for your help. I really enjoy your blog.

Repressed

Dear Repressed,

Thank you so much for trusting me to help you!  I have to say that anything I write here you must check with a doctor. I am not a doctor.  After having said this, I would first ask you to check your stress levels and your diet.

Stress is the number one factor that will cause an outbreak.  Enroll in a meditation study or yoga to find ways to use breath to relieve your stress.  Or pick up art!

Diet: Eat a healthy nourishing diet that consists of many fruits and vegetables. Please stay away from anything with artificial sweeteners, or really any artificial or processed.  Stop drinking coffee and go onto an alkaline diet!  Yes stay away from Arginine especially stay away from nuts (including nut butters), oatmeal, lentils and wheat bread (try gluten-free) and if I even have to say soft drinks.  I think that keeping up with foods that have Lysine is a great idea, if you are eating yogurt, make sure it is organic and comes with the cream on top!

A daily dose of Vitamin C has done wonders for people who have continual outbreaks.  I also believe in the powers of Apple Cider Vinegar.  If you have had an outbreak take a cotton swab and wett it with the ACV and then apply every three hour…you will see it clear up quickly!  Drinking one tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar after every meal (diluted in water) will help to build your immunity.

Lastly, do your own research into Chaparral (Larrea).  It is known in the herbal community that Chaparral is one of the best immune builders and it works wonders when used externally with cold sores!

I do hope this helps!  Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

