Dear Shoshana-Natural Pregnancy Tips

“Dear Shoshana, I am 25 weeks pregnant and after reading your Spatique post yesterday I wonder if you have any other tips for me.  This is my first pregnancy and I am worried about stretch marks, labor and breastfeeding.  I am the first of my friends who wants to go through with a natural pregnancy! I am grateful for whatever you can offer.”  -Midwest Pregnancy

Dear Midwest Pregnancy,

What a great topic to talk about!  Pregnancy is the most wonderful experience of my life!  “The same movements that get the baby in, get the baby out.” ~ From Birthing From Within.  I was told by my midwife, Sharon Sedgwick, something that I have told many women for many years, use a loofah to scrub your nipples every morning in the shower.  Don’t scrub till they hurt, just a simple exfoliation, this will actually ready your nipples for breastfeeding. It works.

For preventing stretch-marks, use the SkinAgain Healing Serum, which is 100% safe and natural, on the hips and buttocks.  However, if you feel like doing it yourself then follow the below recipe (I actually made this for my pregnancy and never received one stretch mark!)  I also gave it to many of my girl friends and they have also been stretch mark free!  If you are not able to make it and want some please contact me!

Mama Belly Butter

To make 4 ounces you will need:

1/2 cup cocoa butter
2 tablespoons shea butter
2 teaspoons wheat germ oil
2 teaspoons apricot kernel oil
2 teaspoons vitamin E oil
4 teaspoons grated beeswax
Essential Oils of your choice ( I used lavender, that I made from Gonzalo’s grandmothers garden!)

Labor is different for every woman and I could write a book about my experience. If I could sum up everything that I have learned it would be: follow your own instincts, they know better than any other person.  If you  have any more particular questions feel free to ask.  I would also suggest for breastfeeding, to go and see a Chinese doctor, whom could put together a brew to drink right after birth.  My sister gave me this magic potion and my milk came fast and furious!  Please email me if you are interested in the recipe.

“The power and intensity of your contractions cannot be stronger than you, because it is you.” ~ Unknown

5 thoughts on “Dear Shoshana-Natural Pregnancy Tips

  1. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and amazing style and design.

Leave a Reply

